Dems Kill Measure Allowing Only US Flags On Government Buildings

( – Last week, Democrats in the Senate blocked a Republican amendment that would have barred government buildings from displaying any flag by the American flag, Fox News reported.

The amendment to the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA), proposed by Kansas Senator Roger Marshall, would have barred all public buildings, including federal office buildings, courthouses, and post offices, from flying or displaying any flag other than the American flag.

While 50 Senators voted in favor of the amendment, it failed to reach the 60-vote threshold required under an agreement arranged by Senate leadership. All 49 Republicans and West Virginia Democrat Joe Manchin voted in favor of the amendment.

Senator Marshall’s amendment mirrored a similar proposal in the House from South Carolina Republican Rep. Ralph Norman.

Rep. Norman’s amendment, which is included in the House’s version of the NDAA, focused only on barring the Defense Department from flying the Pride flag and other controversial flags. 

Marshall’s amendment was broader, applying not just to the Pentagon but to every public building.

While speaking on the Senate floor last week, Senator Marshall argued that it is “right and proper” that only the flag representing “this idea of America should be unfurled” on buildings “owned by we the people.” He said flying any other flag is a “slap in the face” to the men and women who served this country and “disrespectful” to the families of those who have died defending the American flag.

Marshall’s amendment would have exempted some flags, including the POW/MIA flag, US state flags, and those representing the nation of a foreign diplomat.

However, Senate Democrats accused the Republicans of using the amendment to specifically target LGBT Americans.

Wisconsin Democrat Senator Tammy Baldwin claimed that the amendment was solely aimed at stopping the government from displaying a Pride flag, arguing that LGBT Americans have also fought and died serving the country.

Copyright 2023,